Classic Film : What classics did you see last week? (6/15-6/21)

Re: Souls at Sea

I'd managed to forget it until your rude reminder

As long as no one claims he was in full slap for THE WILD GEESE or Guilaroff fashioned his locks for the scrums in THIS SPORTING LIFE I'll be OK

Tell mama, Tell mama all....

Maybe we should think of it as the mark of Caitlyn.....

Tell mama, Tell mama all....

Which would explain the real reason he got thrown out of West Point in Major Dundee.

"Security - release the badgers."

Musical riots, Desi and Lucy and ineffectual cops and judges

Mainly remembered as one of the trio of wildly expensive films that led to the downfall of British production powerhouse Goldcrest (taking the short-lived Virgin Films with it and not doing Palace Pictures' precarious finances any favours either), Absolute Beginners is one of those huge box-office disasters that not only never seems to have been re-evaluated or developed a cult reputation but has pretty much dropped off the map altogether. That's certainly the case in the UK, where it rapidly went from being a potential new direction for British cinema to a career-killing flop that has never even been released on DVD there and has only had two late late night TV screenings in the past twenty years.